Dawn redwood forest

andrewiles

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Hi, complete bonsai newbie here. I started a dawn redwood forest from local nursery cuttings last winter and it has survived to live another year. Started with redwoods because I read they grow fast and were pretty resilient to amateurs. Seems to be true. I was hoping folks could provide some feedback on placement or pruning improvements. I think I'll repot it again this spring to get more experience with that process.

The pot is 2' wide and the tallest tree is 2.5' tall. I've been going for that scraggly subalpine forest look we have here in the Pacific Northwest.

PXL_20201216_231610986.jpg

vp999

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7A
I like the placement of the trees, much better than my first forrest attempt. good job.

Adair M

Pinus Envy
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
I have a couple of comments, but before I give you my critique, I would like to tell you that this is an excellent first attempt by a bonsai newbie! Well done!

Ok, here goes...

It kinda appears that the rocks are more the focus of the arrangement than the trees. The rocks get placed up front and center whereas the trees provide the backdrop. And then, the rocks are polished River rocks. The redwoods grow in more higher elevations where the rocks would be more rugged, not smooth.

The trees: pick one to be the fattest and tallest. Cut the others back, each having a slightly different height. Try to have the tallest be the thickest, the second tallest be the second thickest, and so on to where the shortest is also the slimmest.

Dawn redwood buds profusely, so don’t be afraid to cut back. Remove any excess buds that form in the crotches where the branches come off the trunk.

Enjoy your forest!

Forsoothe!

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b