Dawn Redwood soil, moss, and heat question. (pictures)

dalberti

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a
Hello everyone!

I wont lie when I say that I'm very new to the art of Bonsai. I've been an armchair enthusiast but finally made the decision to buy a Dawn Redwood. It is 7 years old and was purchased from brussel's Bonsai.

I was very happy with the appearance and knew right away that it needed some heavy trimming. There aren't many videos online and only basic answers on how to do this, but I think I've done it correctly (I didn't do a ton).

This brings me to my questions. After reading that it is susceptible to rot and the base should be tended with care (obviously!) and repotted most likely every year because the roots are fast growing, I am wondering how I should take care of the moss that is growing (and if it should be repotted - they did not tell me when it was last repotted, unfortunately. I'm guessing I need to do it soon.)

ALSO (haha), the summers here in Southern Utah are nearing 105-106 F, so I'm wondering how resilient they are to that kind of heat. I know I should keep it moist and never let it dry out, especially during the summer, so I will be keen on doing that! Enough questions? :)

Clearly I'm a noob, but I'm very willing to learn. ANY advice is golden! Thank you! Pictures below of the base of the tree:

Attachments

• IMG_1206.JPG
    IMG_1206.JPG
    288.8 KB · Views: 131
  • IMG_1207.JPG
    IMG_1207.JPG
    243.7 KB · Views: 126
  • IMG_1208.JPG
    IMG_1208.JPG
    240.7 KB · Views: 116
  • IMG_1209.JPG
    IMG_1209.JPG
    303.6 KB · Views: 133

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Looks like you oughtta clean off the surface.

Welcome to Crazy!

Sorce

dalberti

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a
Sorce,