Defoliated a Water-elm

Zach Smith

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Here's a water-elm I've been working on for a few years. This year I felt it was time to do a summer defoliation, in order to get a new fresh set of leaves, encourage back-budding and prepare the tree for showing in the fall. The first shot is from July 7th, the second was taken today. Comments welcome, as always.

Zach

Water-elm7-7-12.jpgWater-elm7-22-12-2.jpg

Tieball

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
Great to see this treatment works and thanks for supporting before and after photos...how about and update photo at show-time? I'm not ready to defoliate yet...perhaps in the future when I get brave. Next year in spring i hope to begin the second and third branch level development on my Water Elm. Have you taken any close-ups of the leaf development? Did the leaf removal produce new branching along with the new leaves. Can you take a couple of close-up branch development pictures. Inquisitive...to help me with my tree.

Zach Smith

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I'll see if I can do that. Been dodging rain the past two weeks, it's literally rained every day (and often torrentially).

I've been waiting to do this defoliation for the right time. Since we collect the species in summer, after the trees have been defoliated by submersion then recovery and a second defoliation upon collection, I like to wait a couple of years to ensure complete recovery. Our statewide show is in October, so I'll take some additional shots in September. We'll see for sure how the treatment worked.

Zach

Zach Smith

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Here are a couple of close-ups to show how the new budding is coming along. As I pinch these new shoots, I'll increase foliage density.

I'll post another shot of the tree in about a week. It should be fully leafed out by then.

Zach

Water-elm closeup7-27-12-1.jpgWater-elm closeup7-27-12-2.JPG

pjkatich

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Hi Zach,