Developing Dwarf Pomegranates

theta

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I just bought 2 dwarf pomegranates from this local nursery near me. I have no experience with them at all, but they're about 3-4 feet tall and need to be cut down. They've already leaved out, so I'm thinking I need to wait until the leaves and new stems harden off, and then can I cut back?

If I missed the window of cutting them low before bud break, when's the next time I can do that?

BunjaeKorea

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
I just bought 2 dwarf pomegranates from this local nursery near me. I have no experience with them at all, but they're about 3-4 feet tall and need to be cut down. They've already leaved out, so I'm thinking I need to wait until the leaves and new stems harden off, and then can I cut back?

If I missed the window of cutting them low before bud break, when's the next time I can do that?
https://www.bonsainut.com/threads/dwarf-poms.26473/page-2#post-545844

milehigh_7

Mister 500,000
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Hot
One major thing to be aware of is that dwarf poms develop trunks VERY SLOWLY. However, as was pointed out in the thread above, they do bud back fairly well. Now, don't cut back past an active node. It might work, it might not. Whatever you do, I would not trunk chop until the trunk is the thickness you want. Otherwise, you will die of old age waiting for it to regrow.

I don't know what your low temps are there in N. GA but I suspect you may be able to drop them in the ground. However, I get pretty fast growth by sticking mine in a 8" terra cotta pot with a REALLY fast draining substrate. A few other things to note is they like it fairly acidic so get yourself some elemental sulfur (the little beads not the powder) and sprinkle about a half teaspoon on every three or four months.

They don't like wet feet. About the only thing that will slow them down is fungus. Let's see some pics.

theta

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone