Did I murder my DAS?

jszg

Mame
Reaction score
Did some 'initial styling' mid-Oct. on an Alberta Spruce I picked up at Home Depot, had growth down to the trunk and fairly horizontal branches to go with the really thick trunk, so I figured it was worth a try (and 40 bucks...) The idea was to eventually get a krummholz windswept sort of plant from the spruce's slingshot double trunk. Noticed when watering though a distinctly unhealthy pallor, a lot of the needles seemed to be lacking a little of their original turgidity. I didn't touch the rootball past the top layer of dirt, but I did get rid of maybe 66% of the foliage.

Is it good as dead? Just in shock, or in rigor mortis? What went wrong horiculturally?
I have no experience with alberta spruces, but I have a few full size Colorado blue spruces in the yard and they do just fine no matter what I do to them. IMG_20221104_161602.jpgIMG_20221104_161636.jpg

Attachments

• IMG_20221104_161646.jpg
    IMG_20221104_161646.jpg
    271.4 KB · Views: 86
  • IMG_20221104_161620.jpg
    IMG_20221104_161620.jpg
    265.1 KB · Views: 81
  • IMG_20221104_161626.jpg
    IMG_20221104_161626.jpg
    271.7 KB · Views: 80
  • IMG_20221104_161654.jpg
    IMG_20221104_161654.jpg
    238.4 KB · Views: 97

Wires_Guy_wires

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
Probably shock, because it has to redirect its sap flow.
But it could be something worse. You'll know in a couple months.

penumbra

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Please post your location in your profile so you can get appropriate and meaningful advice. In my location Oct is a bit late in the year to remove that much foliage, particularly with wiring to add insult to injury.

Shibui

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9?
Definitely add a location to your profile as so many things bonsai depend on your location for timing, etc.