Digging up older garden juniper

Tona

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I am new to the forum. I have been working on Bonsai trees for a few years with no real training. I have quite a few different junipers planted in my yard. I have also been working on them for a few years. I have one that I would like to dig up and pot. It is in a narrow planter, about 10 inches wide. It is fairly large now and I am looking for advice as to what steps to take to maintain its health. I have used garden stock and cut them back severely in the past with very good luck. I believe this particular juniper is a Prostrate San Jose Juniper. (sorry if I spelled that wrong). It has a trunk size of about 6 inches in circumference and is about three feet long (it is (or will be) a cascade style. Any tips on transplanting would be appreciated.
Tona :)

Last edited:

jk_lewis

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7-8
Since it already is in a "pot" (planter) you shouldn't have much trouble transplanting. It is whan the trees are in he ground and roots spread out several times the diameter of the canopy that you have the most problems.

Treat it much as you would a repot of an existing bonsai. If you have to remove a lot of root to get it into its next (NOT final!) pot, hold off on top work until later in the year. I don't know where you live, so can't advise as to whan the best time to repot for your area might be.

Bill S

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5a
With a six inch trunk and a 10" planter you will probably have quite the time finding a pot for the root mass on this, have some building materials ready when you dig it out, so you can make a grow box for it. I am thinking you will have a big block of roots fused together in the planter, could be they take up a good portion of the whole planter.

Tona

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Thanks