Do Air Layer roots dry out the moss ball?

chance

Seed
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6B
Hi All,
Newbie here, I've just started doing some air layers this spring and have started harvesting a few of them over the past few weeks. Now, I've got a chicken and the egg type question about them.

One thing I've noticed in my air layers that have taken (and put out roots) is that the moss ball is super dry, and my ones that haven't are still quite wet. Is that just because those roots are working and pulling water out of the moss ball? Or alternately did those work because they were dryer and the soggy ones are too wet and that's why they haven't taken? To state it more simply, did they work becuase they were dryer or are they dry becuase they worked?

I've since poked a few drain holes in some of the wet ones that haven't taken, but I'm just looking for advice on how to increase my success rate, and whether I need to go back out and re-cut the ones that aren't taking or just be patient.

Thanks in advance for your insight and advice!

19Mateo83

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b
Yes the roots do drink up the water in the moss balls. I have experienced soggy air layers and I find that if you don’t secure the top wire/string tight enough rain water seeps in and gets caught and soaks the moss ball to the point of having to poke holes to drain excess moisture.

Kanorin

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
To state it more simply, did they work becuase they were dryer or are they dry becuase they worked?
Great question, because the answer is not straightforward. Part B is likely true, but part A may also be true depending on how wet they started. When I prep the moss to put on an airlayer, I soak it, then I squeeze it out so about only 25% of the water is left in the moss - then I put it around the girdle. I also now always put some drainage holes in the bottom.

Kanorin

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a