Does it really dry out quicky!?

deineath

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
A question for those who use Bonsai Jack soil:
I repotted my bougain with their organic mix, which is pumice, calcined clay and pine bark a couple days ago.
What I noticed is that the soil dries out in matter of hours, like dry dry! The tree is currently inside, and the room temp is around 70 degrees.
It's my first time using this soil, so I've run some tests to make sure I'm not paranoid.
I've always used akadama/lava/mix, (and The Bonsai Supply mix a handful times) in the past few years, so this is pretty new medium for me.
I've read here and in other forums that people love this soil. So, I'm wondering how was your experience using this mix? Am I caring too much or I should be concerned?

Gr8tfuldad

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b
I use the inorganic mix and supplement with pine bark on thirstier plants. I’m in zone 7 b. Outside in morning sun and afternoon shade I am watering once a day. To me this is perfect.

Have you tried the chop stick test to make sure that just the top is t just dry and bottom is still wet?

Tums

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
is the mix actually wetting? could it have gotten hydrophobic somehow?

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
What's the watering method and duration?

Sorce

Scorpius

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
I use their inorganic mix and I have to water once a day if its sunny, dry, and windy out. The more humid, hot, and cloudy out every other day.

Paradox

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
A question for those who use Bonsai Jack soil:
I repotted my bougain with their organic mix, which is pumice, calcined clay and pine bark a couple days ago.
What I noticed is that the soil dries out in matter of hours, like dry dry! The tree is currently inside, and the room temp is around 70 degrees.
It's my first time using this soil, so I've run some tests to make sure I'm not paranoid.