Douglas Fir Bonsai

Newish in Oregon

Yamadori
Reaction score
I have a Douglas Fir from a neighbor who potted up the volunteer from her yard. It's about 3' tall in a 4 gallon pot. I've been growing other species seedlings for several years with bonsai aspirations and have taken 'senior' classes for about 9 months. But I really am unsure where to start w/ this fir. Suggestions and/or resources greatly appreciated.

Newish in Oregon

Yamadori
Reaction score
Not 100% sure what to show in picts...first four are the 4 sides and then one that hopefully shows budding. If something more specific would be useful, let me know and I can add more tomorrow.

Attachments

• IMG_1753[1].JPG
    IMG_1753[1].JPG
    236 KB · Views: 184
  • IMG_1754[1].JPG
    IMG_1754[1].JPG
    218.8 KB · Views: 176
  • IMG_1755[1].JPG
    IMG_1755[1].JPG
    198.4 KB · Views: 132
  • IMG_1756[1].JPG
    IMG_1756[1].JPG
    211.9 KB · Views: 128
  • IMG_1757[1].JPG
    IMG_1757[1].JPG
    267.9 KB · Views: 115

0soyoung

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
I've got a bunch of these, both little volunteers I find in my yard (coastal variety) and ones that I acquired from ArborDay . They can be treated like a spruce/fir as cut back to a bud. Any stem (internode) without a bud the end will become a dead stem, so one must cut back to a node or a bud. I continue to do this in late summer, after the new foliage has all hardened. With spruce this seems to strongly stimulate back budding, even on the trunk of the spruce, but it doesn't seem to work that way on pseudotsuga. Buds sometimes show up on leafless wood, but for reasons I still cannot decipher. They just do their thing with the only predictable budding being the abundance of budding on the dominant leader. I have read in forestry papers that the crowns of forest Douglas firs spontaneously renew (bud) after 8 or so years which might mean back budding is simply age related, but I know that is not exactly true either.