Dremel for wood carving and tools sharpening

maroun.c

Omono
Reaction score
is Dremel of good use for wood carving on smaller trees at least or do you need a more powerful tool? believe you can also use it to sharpen garden tools? anyone uses it for sharpening tools? which attachments do you need for sharpening tools?
Thanks.

plant_dr

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
A Dremel can be fine for carving smaller trees and fine detail work. I've used it before but I wouldn't say I'm an expert at carving or that I'm any good at it at all really. It's just the only option I had. Some people also use the long flexible shaft attatchment which gives you more room to work in tight areas. I'm sure you could use it for sharpening tools but don't use the same bit as you would for carving wood obviously.

For larger trees and removing bigger volumes of wood, they often use something like a Makita die grinder.

cbroad

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Dremel does make a tool sharpening kit that comes with 3 attachments (and guides). I have it somewhere but have never used it, I can dig it out later if you want pics. I also bought a carbon steel brush bit with the intentions of using to clean the surface of my tools, but again I have never used it.

The flexible shaft does really come in handy for detail work.

leatherback

The Treedeemer
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I use a makita and a dremel. Makita with powerfull bits to set the general outline. Then dremel for the details. Keep in mind that as the tree ages the natural lines in the wood will crack. Any carving youdo will thereform have to follow the natural grain of the wood of it will look very odd when it ages.

maroun.c

Omono
Reaction score