Dwarf bald Cypress

BonsaiNaga13

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
I'm fairly new to bonsai about a year in. Last year I collected a bunch of bald Cypress cones from 4 different trees rainging 30 to 40 feet. I had about 36 seedlings sprout in May and April, of those my tallest is 2 feet and all others are at least 1 foot except one that's less than 3 inches. 7830fbca5a45dbe-a-nw-p.jpg

I was growing them in a bulb pan for future forest plantings and fertilized regurlarly yet this little guy would develope tiny branches and his leaves looked completely different. I looked up dwarf bald Cypress and that looks like what I got here lol.cypress bald peve minaret3crop_cb4361616e230466b52242612dc49c6a.jpg

Guess I found a gene mutation that I thought was worth sharing

Attachments

• c1f3a394c294356-a-nw-p.jpg
    c1f3a394c294356-a-nw-p.jpg
    540.4 KB · Views: 68
  • b277bf4afcffb69-a-nw-p.jpg
    b277bf4afcffb69-a-nw-p.jpg
    615.1 KB · Views: 69
  • c5e0d4620902de7-a-nw-p.jpg
    c5e0d4620902de7-a-nw-p.jpg
    622.1 KB · Views: 91

rockm

Spuds Moyogi
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I've seen a few specialized Bald cypress varieties at nurseries. This one resembles the "Peve Minaret" dwarf variety. These varieties in a species arise from a number of sources, from a genetic quirk to insect attack.

Peve Minaret is, and isn't, great for bonsai. Since it's slower growing, it will take longer than a "regular" BC to develop into bonsai. However, its got more compact leaves and growth.

Leo in N E Illinois

The Professor
Reaction score
on the IL-WI border, a mile from ''da Lake''
USDA Zone
5b
Your one seedling seems special, as was said, might be a genetic mutation, or epigenetic mutation. Only time will tell. It could also be the seed it came from was deficient in stored starches, and this may in time revert to a normal growth pattern. (A bug or wevil could have eaten the starchy portion of the seed)