Dwarf Chinese elm

G-squad

Seed
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Hi All,

First time posting here. I picked up this Dwarf Chinese elm. I'm fairly new to bonsai and no experience with elms at all only maples and ficus.
I am thinking about reducing the size with a big trunk chop to just above the first branch. It's winter here now in Australia is it a good time or should I wait until spring?

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks

Attachments

• unnamed (3).jpg
    unnamed (3).jpg
    375.3 KB · Views: 72
  • unnamed (2).jpg
    unnamed (2).jpg
    383 KB · Views: 72
  • unnamed (1).jpg
    unnamed (1).jpg
    356.4 KB · Views: 55
  • unnamed.jpg
    unnamed.jpg
    385.1 KB · Views: 75
Last edited:

Shibui

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9?
Welcome to the nut house.
Your tree looks like the Chinese elm variety we call 'Seiju' I don't think it is a true dwarf. The re is a dwarf Chinese elm called 'Hokkaido' but that one has much smaller leaves and extremely brittle branches which drop off at a touch.

Whatever variety it is you have a choice to chop for taper and more buds down low OR to let it grow a bit longer to thicken the trunk more.
Much will depend on your plans for the future of the tree as a bonsai. What size do you hope to develop? Do you want to see a much thicker trunk or are you reasonably happy with the current trunk diameter?
I also grow many of my bonsai by repeated chop and grow sequences so that now gives 3 slightly different development plans.