Dwarf Jade Help

Frogger05

Seedling
Reaction score
My dwarf jade recently started dropping its leaves. Nothing has changed as far as watering or environment. It is still producing nice new shoots on most of its branches. However some of them instead of producing new shoots are dropping the leaves. I am fairly new to bonsai and only have three so I don’t know if this is normal or not.

Attachments

• 9D870E8C-ACCE-45AE-90F5-78ED61EC4ED2.jpeg
    9D870E8C-ACCE-45AE-90F5-78ED61EC4ED2.jpeg
    194.8 KB · Views: 79
  • 90F3A401-32CA-40AE-9DF3-A6735ADC376E.jpeg
    90F3A401-32CA-40AE-9DF3-A6735ADC376E.jpeg
    130.6 KB · Views: 78
  • 44A3483F-DCCC-47F2-8FB3-CA535469F29A.jpeg
    44A3483F-DCCC-47F2-8FB3-CA535469F29A.jpeg
    218.8 KB · Views: 88

Carol 83

Flower Girl
Reaction score
Perhaps over-watering. Let the soil dry out some. You can tell when it really needs water, the leaves will begin to shrivel.

Michael P

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a
I am currently having this problem on a 3" pot of cuttings from Home Depot. This is experimental material to see if I want to acquire something more developed. I've had the cuttings for several months, and tried letting them dry out more between waterings but it didn't help. The roots still look healthy.

It is now warm enough to put them outside here, and that seems to have helped. Perhaps this is related to light intensity? I am very curious to hear what other experienced people have to say.

PeaceLoveBonsai

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Where are you located and where is the plant currently? Outside, under lights? Also, what substrate is it currently in? A bit more information would help identify the issue.

The plant looks stressed for sure and guessing by the way the shoots are growing straight up from the top of the plant (and not from the sides or interior), I'm assuming an artificial light source right above the plant that is not sufficient for long term growth.

Bonsai Nut

Nuttier than your average Nut