Dying Fukien Tea Tree Bonsai

Ilokee16

Seedling
Reaction score
Hey everyone! I’m completely new to bonsai and wanted to have my first experience making a plant into a bonsai myself.
I purchased a Fukien Tea Tree Plant at a bonsai store (I wasn’t told they were hard to keep), and was told to just trim the roots and place it in a bonsai style pot.

I followed some instructions online (youtube videos and such) and did the anchoring of the bonsai and such.

It is planted in a well draining mix of potting soil and substrate I got at a nursery.

The problem is that after a week of being in its new pot it seems to be dying. I suspect I may have trimmed its roots too much and have stressed it out but don’t know how to help it get well again.

The only symptom it has is yellowing droopy leaves. I live in a tropical country in a very humid region (central america). The bonsai is being kept in a slightly shady corner outside in our patio deck.

Can I save it?

I’ve attached pics of how it was before root trimming and now in its bonsai pot. E71D2363-42B4-4F6F-8C1E-87921F06D38D.jpeg6E8CED03-D0FC-4F4F-B10D-2ADCC290E811.jpeg55D10298-27C9-44C2-926D-2EEAC6D3E8B3.jpeg

Carol 83

Flower Girl
Reaction score
They drop their leaves when moved, repotted, just to be a pain, etc. Just let it get acclimated. Don't let it dry out, nor overwater. Probably not the best choice for your very first tree. Good luck, hopefully it will perk up.

Ilokee16

Seedling
Reaction score
They drop their leaves when moved, repotted, just to be a pain, etc. Just let it get acclimated. Don't let it dry out, nor overwater. Probably not the best choice for your very first tree. Good luck, hopefully it will perk up.

It’s probably an awful choice for a first bonsai. I’m not sure how much to water it either it just looks sad :(

I honestly got it because its what the guy at the bonsai store recommended and I impulse bought it without researching the species first.

Trimaptim

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9b