Dying maples??

Nikoniko

Seedling
Reaction score
Im new to bonsai and have bought a 2 ft tall dwarf japanese maple. Ive had it for about a month now, and its leaves started turning black on the edges and shriveled up about a week or so after repotting, which was the weekend after I bought it. The soil thati used for the repotting was some of its old soil (tree bark and moss of som sort), course sand and small pebbles into a large clay pot with 2 1" drainage holes on the bottom. I watered it daily for a week and a half, not knowing that the soil was still plenty moist from the previous watering. I dont have a lot of money right now and my tree has lost 90% of its leaves and the ones left are shriveling away like the rest, but the wood on all its branches is still green under the soft bark. Is there anything that i can do to bring it back from this, like less watering, Or something more drastic? Thank you for your time.20200510_115008.jpg

keri-wms

Shohin
Reaction score
How much of the roots did you prune, what soil is in the remaining rootball or did you bare root it?

Is kept outdoors (I see carpet?) and in shade/shelter after the repot?

Even sand can be too fine/water retentive and can cause root rot but I suspect there’s a shorter term problem with climate or the root to leaves ratio for it to go downhill so fast.

keri-wms

Shohin
Reaction score
If you have a clear plastic bag big enough to drop over the whole top of the tree and loosely tie at the trunk that’ll get the top half in a high humidity cocoon as a start, but again not in direct sunlight.

bonsaichile

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
Did you repot it when it was in full leaf? If that was the case, for future reference, you repot when thr buds start to swell but before the leaves emerge

Cadillactaste

Neagari Gal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b