Early Growth on Birch Cuttings

barguy8194

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
This is my first time attempting to propagate hardwoods from cuttings. I took these paper birch cuttings around the first week of February. I expected, from my reading, that they would take a couple weeks to begin sprouting roots, and then would start budding and eventually put out some leaves by sometime next month. Spring usually arrives mid-March to early-April here.

However... here we are at the end of February, and this is what my cuttings look like. I’m excited that they seem to have taken off so well, but also concerned that there might not be enough light for them to survive until it’s warm enough to go outside.

I also have two white ash and one yellow birch that have started budding out. My red oak have yet to do anything.

Two questions: when should I transplant these into individual pots? And what should I do to give these the best shot at surviving inside until summertime when they can safely go outside?

Attachments

• CD12196F-46C6-426E-AC96-84B8B9C49623.jpeg
    CD12196F-46C6-426E-AC96-84B8B9C49623.jpeg
    147.9 KB · Views: 23

eryk2kartman

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
Nice one!
You need to let them grow probably full season to get nice and strong roots, so re potting would be done next year.
In terms how they should survive, is there any chance you can put them outside ? We nearly in March.
If nights are still cold, you can bring them in to garage or something like that until last frost is gone.

barguy8194

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Nice one!
You need to let them grow probably full season to get nice and strong roots, so re potting would be done next year.
In terms how they should survive, is there any chance you can put them outside ? We nearly in March.
If nights are still cold, you can bring them in to garage or something like that until last frost is gone.