Eastern Hemlock (Canadian Hemlock) for Bonsai

ken66

Seedling
Reaction score
I saw an old thread about this....in fact, this is how I became a new member here. Im also new to Bonsai but have always been intrigued by them. Beautiful... I was up at my place in Maine and this little sapling was growing just outside my cabin. I thought it had an interesting shape. Looked like a little bonsai already. It was in a place that it would be stepped on so I dup up the frozen ground wide around it and took it home. I did some google searches and started getting info about these species. So, from what Ive read, they are difficult but can, if you get the right one be very nice Bonsai. Ive also seen threads saying don't bother. I have seen some Eastern Hemlock Bonsai that are absolutely stunning ( picture I saw below and a picture of mine same day I planted it). So, after planting, I put it back outside to continue with its dormancy period. I read 1000 hours should me enough. I will cover the base with straw/grass to protect from the extreme cold soon. in about 1.5 months, I will bring it in slowly then wire it to shape it. Maintain an acidic soil....in fact, I'll go back and get the same peat moss soil from that area for it.

Here is a picture of my little find,

1544403994623.png

Here is a beautiful eastern Hemlock Bonsai I saw online
1544404232435.png

Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
I have a couple that I have high hopes for, and I really enjoy the species’ habit. I think I would leave it outdoors though. They are quite hardy, so I wouldn’t risk bringing it inside. You can wire during the growing season.

ken66

Seedling
Reaction score
I have a couple that I have high hopes for, and I really enjoy the species’ habit. I think I would leave it outdoors though. They are quite hardy, so I wouldn’t risk bringing it inside. You can wire during the growing season.