Easy to tend trees?

that-guy

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8A
I am basically new to bonsai. I have a few pre-bonsai that I have had a couple if months and I've taken excellent care of them and will probably shape at least one in spring. But on the 19th my local bonsai club is having an auction that will have tools, trees, pots, ect. I was told it is a good place to get trees and stuff. The club pres. said the most ever spent was like $130. So figured I could get some tools and maybe a bonsai or two. But what are some bonsai that are pretty easy to take care of and look nice. I like the trees that have small flowers or change color in fall. But I don't know if those are harder to keep well. What are some species you recommend and they don't have to be deciduous but I already have a juniper and ficus and would like something different. What is your guy's opinions? :)

Brian Van Fleet

Pretty Fly for a Bonsai Guy
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8A
Azaleas are a good choice. Get ahold of Joe Day down there. Send me a PM if you need his contact info or you'll be in my area.

that-guy

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8A
Yeah, I met Joe he's pretty knowledgeable I don't know why I didn't think about talking to him. :eek: and the azaleas either, my mind must be crazy today. Thanks and I'll try and contact you if I go that way, I don't see myself going for a while but there's a lot of stuff I'd like to see there and i have distant family around there. Thanks a lot for your in put I have lots to learn :eek:

cmeg1

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
just had to put one in for'yatsubusa' elm.The one below is only around twelve years and is actually pretty small for it's age,I think.They back-bud everywhere.Here is my growing season with one.In a 13" colander.It was also root pruned in the spring.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    200.2 KB · Views: 38
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    197.8 KB · Views: 37
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    204 KB · Views: 37