Emperor one maple

Colorado Bonsai

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
I just purchaced an emperor one maple. It has unique nebari and cought my eye. The tree is growing with a lean to the right but most of the branches turn to the left. However, the longest trunk and it's branches are pretty hard. Does this mean that part of the tree is dying?IMAG0143.jpg

This is the main trunk. Thoughts?

MACH5

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
Colorado what do you mean by "pretty hard"?

Also can you post a pic showing the entire tree?

Colorado Bonsai

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
Colorado what do you mean by "pretty hard"?

Also can you post a pic showing the entire tree?

Yes, of course. and thanks for any help!

Keep in mind I am new at this so if it looks like I have done something wrong I probably have... But I am learning.

The right side of the tree is "very hard" meaning it does not bend very easily. It seems like it could snap if ben too much. Some branches are worse than others. The left side seems fine...

The entire tree is covered in buds so... I guess time will tell. Thoughts?

Thanks again. :)

IMAG0144.jpg

Here is another angle-

IMAG0145.jpgIMAG0145.jpg

Last edited:

Brian Van Fleet

Pretty Fly for a Bonsai Guy
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8A
I'd be tempted to remove the thicker "right" trunk at the fork (above where the green wire goes around the whole thing), and work with the smaller "left" trunk as the tree. In a few years, the movement and taper will make a very nice bonsai.

Poink88

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
I'd be tempted to remove the thicker "right" trunk at the fork (above where the green wire goes around the whole thing), and work with the smaller "left" trunk as the tree. In a few years, the movement and taper will make a very nice bonsai.

Based on the pics, I agree and think that is the way to go too.

Beng

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
10b