evergreen design doubt and taper

brennobonsai

Yamadori
Reaction score
I come here with my Malpighia glabra because I am a beginner in bonsai and I wanted to choose some style for this plant which I have found very difficult to define a style for it because I am also very indecisive.
20210327_084051.jpg

20210328_165505.jpg

20210328_170606.jpg

20210327_084351.jpg

Another question I have here is about the front of it. Which one should I choose? Should I make a diagonal cut on the marked part of the trunk? Or can I just turn to the other side that hides the cut and define it as the front? How do I thicken the base of the trunk. My idea with this cut was to make the bonsai more conical.

What do you think? What should I do next

I hope you can help me with that.

Juanmi

Mame
Reaction score
Hello there,

I'm also a beginner, but when I see your tree I imagine it in han-kengai.

I would cut the top part (because the trunk is thick and cylindric) and strart with the rest changing the angle.

Cheers20210331_141525.jpg

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Toes!

Have we seen this before?

Seems a long project in desperate need of more rooms to grow it's own toes!

That virt is possible 👆.

No matter what most of the top will have to come off.

It does seem the best path is through that first branch. Gotta fix them transitions.

Sorce

brennobonsai

Yamadori
Reaction score
Hello there,

I'm also a beginner, but when I see your tree I imagine it in han-kengai.

I would cut the top part (because the trunk is thick and cylindric) and strart with the rest changing the angle.

CheersView attachment 364717
wow!! that looks pretty good!! I really like it!!!! I'll definitively think about that project. I like a lot. do you know what is the best season to do this pruning? since it is a big cut. Here in Brazil we're entering the fall.

Juanmi

Mame
Reaction score
I would personnally go for the han-kengai style.