Experts please help with this live oak tree zone 9b

jade

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9B
Hello. Im very new to bonsai. I only read a little and did some studying. I bought some nursery trees and dug some scragglers out of my bushes in my yard so I can experiment a little. I want to join the club but until then I want to start a few trees, so that the experts in the club can would me seriously when I join and not for just a joker.

Last month when I was taking oaks out of my yard they did not bleed when cut. They have all back budded fine after I defoliated them and are shooting out new branches.

I have this thicker nursery tree I wanted to cut to work on the branches. When I got it, it was so big so I just cut it down knowing I'm only going going use the stump anyways.
Today this one started to bleed so I used cut paste. I figure it's too late to cut at this point but I just learned from my mistake. I hope its not too late for new growth but I see so many dormant buds im hoping it will explode like my others did. Anyways-

I would like to turn to the experts here for advise

This is a Quercus Agrifolia California Live Oak

Does these lengths look right to you? Or should I cut it a little lower to get the desired effect? Do you have any other advise for a beginner?
Thanks so much for reading
J

Attachments

• 20210307_131540.jpg
    20210307_131540.jpg
    382.4 KB · Views: 103
  • 20210307_131237.jpg
    20210307_131237.jpg
    239.2 KB · Views: 85
  • 20210307_132407.jpg
    20210307_132407.jpg
    373.4 KB · Views: 71

PaulH

Omono
Reaction score
That's a pretty nice tree for a start. I think you should reduce the left branch by 50%. Right now both main branches are about the same length creating a slingshot look, not a good thing. Asymmetry is a key to good bonsai styling.

jade

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9B
Thanks Paul.
I see your point. Maby it could be shaped more like this

Attachments

• 20210307_131540 (1).jpg
    20210307_131540 (1).jpg