F. Microcarpa Deadwood

Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Hello, all! I got started in bonsai 14 years ago, and was very active until a career change forced me to liquidate much of my collection.

I am coming back today to ask the community's opinion on how to deal with the deadwood on this big ficus stump. I aqcuired this thing a few years ago from a defunct nursery. They let the top burn badly, almost killing the tree. I nursed it back to health, but am left with this 2.5" dry stump surrounded by cambium scars that have now completely curled and sealed over.

How best to deal with this? Remove completely and create a hollow, or carve into an interesting deadwood feature? I have zero experience carving, so suggestions on proper tools and technique are welcome!

0514201036.jpg

Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
ficus in the jungle naturally form hollow trunks from strangeling vines, and deadwood features don’t form in tropics.

Id hollow it out.

That is a good point! I know the general rule is no jin on tropicals, but I never had a tree present with such a massive piece of deadwood before.

To create the hollow, I assume I would just saw out what I safely can, then grind out the rest with a dremel or something? What sort of bit(s) would you use for that kind of work?

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
It looks like it was grown around a broom handle!

Second for carving it out.

There are a couple commercial bits that work but I reckon the Bonsai Specific ones work best.

Sorce

Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a

Sorce

Interesting thread. I may consider emulating that method when I get this carved out. I am hoping to get quantum board LED's by fall, and hopefully get a ton of healthy growth out of my tropicals over the winter. I imagine this could heal over quite quickly with something to back it.

Thanks!

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
heal over quite quickly with something to back it.

Yours looks Benjaminish.