feather rock project

Kvolk

Seedling
Reaction score
I have had this chunk of feather rock kicking around for years. I am not an artist by any means and didn't really know what to do with it but finally decided to pull it our of a flower bed and give it a shot. The little bit of greenery you see there now is just to mark where the future trees will go. They are top left, high on the right (just barely seen) and bottom front right side. I am considering cotoneaster or juniper for next spring. All three hollowed out planting cavities are connected. Top left drains to top right and op right to bottom front an therer is a drainage hole from bottom front to the bottom.
Questions--- suggestions of potting soil? I am planning pumice, lava and oil dry (in place of akadama) I may add a little pine bark to the very top one.
Would there be a problem of tufeather rock.jpgcking a little spagnum moss around the openings to the planting cavities just to help keep the potting media in place and to hide the color difference of the pumice/lava a little

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Russian Egg Yellow....

How large are the planting holes?

I'd use small DE.

Sorce

Forsoothe!

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
I think you need to make the holes first and then decide what to put there. Grinding pockets into featherstone is a lot like work. You will have pumice dust in every pore and orifice and you'l need equipment with a long enough reach to do the job. you'll be working with gloves on and that will screw-up your grip. You'll need carbide bits, too. You need to do this outdoors, and up-wind with a decent breeze.

johng

Omono
Reaction score