Field grown juniper, j. squamata "Meyeri"

James W.

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
I got two of these j. squamata "Meyeri" from a local nursery. Freshly dug, balled and burlap. Ball is about 2 feet in diameter. Soil is typical gumbo clay. I have removed the bottom half of the ball before finding roots, so it is fairly shallow.
My question: how much of the original soil can I remove safely for it's first potting?
DSC_0274.JPG

Wires_Guy_wires

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
I have no experience with squamata, but 5 out of 5 of my junipers that came in a ball and burlap survived bare rooting.
I washed the old soil out for 90% or so, as much as I could without damaging anything.
They didn't lose any branches in two years, so I think they're good.

James W.

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
I have no experience with squamata, but 5 out of 5 of my junipers that came in a ball and burlap survived bare rooting.
I washed the old soil out for 90% or so, as much as I could without damaging anything.
They didn't lose any branches in two years, so I think they're good.
That is good to know. Thank you.

Wires_Guy_wires

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
I think the key to them surviving was that I damaged as little as possible, and the fact that I did the work in/before spring (and not in summer, which seems to be advised more often than I'd like to see because it doesn't work for me). As far as I know the communis juniper is the only juniper that doesn't respond well to touching their roots.
A good draining soil seems to be the best option. Don't use bark! Or as little as possible.