Field Maple

wwtigraww

Seedling
Reaction score
hi guys. have this pretty field maple that we saved from the building site. it's been in the pot outside for a year now, meant to repot and chop the top of it last autumn, but broke my leg and just about walking now, to do anything about it.
is it too late? it's just starting growing leaf buds no leaf opened yet, I'm in Ireland.
Please help can I still do either repotting or chopping or is it too late?

Attachments

• 20191028_153523.jpg
    20191028_153523.jpg
    217.3 KB · Views: 79
  • 20191028_153525.jpg
    20191028_153525.jpg
    298.3 KB · Views: 85

Woocash

Omono
Reaction score
I don’t want to give false advice ‘cause I’m a noob too, but if the leaves aren’t out yet then repotting can still be done. If it’s only been in the pot for a year you can wait til next year to regain some more vigour first though. FYI it’s a sycamore, Acer pseudoplatanus, not a field maple. They’re not commonly used for bonsai because of leaf size so this probably needs to do some growing to create a larger bonsai really.

Forsoothe!

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
Looks like a field maple to me, and it's grafted so maybe a special variety, too. There are varieties and varieties.Hedge or Field Maple ID.JPG
Hedge of Field Maple leaf.JPG
Hedge or Amur Mpale leaf.JPG

wwtigraww

Seedling
Reaction score
definitely not grafted because I found it growing on a side of the building site hole lol. it definitely looks it, not sure did it get a damage there or how. these are last year photos it's just budding now. where would you think I should cut? thinking just over the wave part and leave the side sacrifice?

Attachments

• 20200407_192552.jpg
    20200407_192552.jpg
    386.9 KB · Views: 54

BrianBay9

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone