Finally found some ficus at nursery (tiny cuttings)

Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
So I finally found some ficus at a local greenhouse/nursery store. (Im completely new to this)

There were in the houseplant section. It is essentially a 4" pot of what I would probably call "newly rooted cuttings". They are pretty tiny. They are variegated willow ficus.

I have always liked the banyan style. How can I get there from here? Should I try to move the stems closer together and use pinch and grow till they start merging? I will be misting daily to encourage aerial roots but im not sure if these are mature enough to produce them.. ?

Thanks for any advice.

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
If you want em to fuse you gotta let em grow like mad!

Sorce

Redwood Ryan

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7A
Variegated Willow Leaf Ficus? I'm not so sure about that. I've never seen a variegated Willow Leaf. Most likely benjamina.

Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
Variegated Willow Leaf Ficus? I'm not so sure about that. I've never seen a variegated Willow Leaf. Most likely benjamina.

The pot label says weeping ficus. The sign at the store said variegated ficus. It definitely not a willow. My ID skills are terrible but I think you are correct.

akhater

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
weeping is benjamina

willow is salicaria

can't believe you are actually having trouble finding ficus, they grow on the streets around here.

it is like me trying to find a larch or a hornbeam lol

jk_lewis

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7-8
Indiana and Lebanon are a BIT different.

Without a sophisticated heated greenhouse setup I wouldn't try for anything fancy "figwise" in Indiana. Your growing season is too short and your winter homes are too dry.

DougB

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8A