First attempt at bonsai - need advice

nebari64

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6B
Hello bonsai enthusiasts! I am brand new to bonsai. I developed an interest in growing trees from seed and have done several "guerrilla" plantings of baldcypress, dawn redwood and oak trees in my local community. I realized that it might be nice to keep some trees in my own care as bonsai as I do not have room to plant any more at my residence and it is hard to find decent public locations.
I need advice on how to start to develop a weeping willow tree that was started several years ago from a cutting. The base looks interesting to me. It is still in the same pot I transplanted it to about 3 years ago. I live in Rhode island in zone 6B.

Willow tree PNG1.png Willow Tree PGN2.png Willow Tree PNG3.png

1. Should I chop it and leave it in the same container?
2. Should I transplant it into a larger container and let it keep growing? (I am sure the the container is completely root filled - willow roots grow fast.)
3. What do you recommend as the height of the chop?
4. Are any of the dead base branches worth keeping? Should root pruning be done the same time as the trunk chop?
I do have several other candidates for a first bonsai. (willow oaks 16-24 inches tall, one Japanese Maple about 12 inches tall and a baldcypress) Maybe I should start on another candidate first?
Any suggestions and ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Shibui

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9?
I have not grown weeping willow as bonsai. Have heard they are not really easy to style - How do you fit long hanging shoots in a small space? Probably need to be largish sized bonsai to really show the weeping habit properly. If it does need to be a larger bonsai probably needs a thicker trunk. That means growing on for a while.
That said, willow are relatively tough trees so if you want to just grow it for practice with techniques go ahead. Have fun.