first attempt at juniper

cheezywhiz

Seed
Reaction score
First post!

I'm relatively new to bonsai. Been working with succulents a lot since I have huge jade bushes in my yard and I'm drowning in large cuttings every time I do garden pruning. I started dabbling with other types of trees. I was at a nursery yesterday and saw a juniper that looked like a nice specimen to try a turning into a cascade style.

The two main branches were coming out perfectly horizontally, so I'm thinking I'll tip it forward and to the left when I repot it.

• How did I do? Any tips to improve it?
• The top is probably too long, but should I keep it to help the tree thicken?
• Is it too late in the season to put this in a bonsai pot?

This video helped a lot. I would never have known what to do otherwise.

Attachments

• IMG_2794.jpg
    IMG_2794.jpg
    253.2 KB · Views: 84
  • IMG_2812.jpg
    IMG_2812.jpg
    152.4 KB · Views: 85

Potawatomi13

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
You can train upwards but realize these naturally lay out low to ground? Procumbens=reclining;).

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
You can get 3 of these at home depot for that price...... sometimes. Not because you spent too much on that one, but because we'll recommend getting 8 more, then the difference becomes quite a bit more! Find that sale ......make it 12 more.

Welcome to Crazy!

Sorce

Njyamadori

Chumono
Reaction score
I’m a beginner but the middle branch would look better if the top turned to the right or maybe left

HENDO

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
4a
Looks like a great start, good job!

First things first, scrape the loose top layer of nursery soil off and then cut the top rim of the nursery pot down to just above your new soil level - this will give you (and us) a better view of the nebari, very important component when doing this type of initial styling.