First Bonsai - is it ok tree?

BonPiotr

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Hi,
I’m completely new to bonsai and I have only watched few videos on YouTube. Recently i have bought my first tree - chinese elm, which is 5-6 years old. It was rather cheap, because I didn’t want to kill nice bonsai during learning. Now the longer i watch it, the more flaws I see in it.

So tell me is it worth time, can these flaws, like wire scars, strangely bended side branch or trunk cut can be fixed? Also it seems that it has not much foliage :/ Do you see something that should be done right now or it would be better to give it time?

28D00CFC-E798-4CEC-B539-BE400FFC18DF.jpeg
FB7C1096-4BF4-448A-9E1B-4A72A15D8AC6.jpeg
4EF2B39C-0215-4DE4-8561-3A663741DFD6.jpeg
51CF7878-1D57-4C85-B83D-2D4E5C17BF66.jpeg

Paradox

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Please put your location on your profile so we can give you proper advice. Location is an important factor for much of bonsai.

I would put the tree in a spot outside that gets some sun.

When the tree gets stronger, you can start addressing the other issues.

It is a good starter tree that you can learn from

Last edited:

BonPiotr

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Thanks :) I live in Poland so it’s moderate climate (colder and more dry than UK and warmer than Russia/Scandinavia). Tree is staying outside from the start, I guess it gets around 3-4 hours of direct sunlight at the morning and then stays in shade. It’s the best spot I can offer for it :)

Paradox

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Thanks :) I live in Poland so it’s moderate climate (colder and more dry than UK and warmer than Russia/Scandinavia). Tree is staying outside from the start, I guess it gets around 3-4 hours of direct sunlight at the morning and then stays in shade. It’s the best spot I can offer for it :)
Sounds fine.
Please do put your location on your profile so we don't have to keep asking you where you are to give advice

BonPiotr