First Boxwood

AboveBeyond

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
I just picked up this "Wintergreen" Buxus microphylla at a garden center. It immediately caught my eyes because of the twin trunk and nebari. The trunk is about 2.5 inches and it's currently a huge bush measuring at 30inches tall and 36 inches wide.

Since I'm new to boxwood, is it okay to repot now or wait until next spring (I'm seeing that either times are fine?). If I do repot now, can I start pruning back the branches or wait until next spring?

Close up

boxwood1.jpg

Left trunk
boxwood2.jpg

Right Trunk
boxwood3.jpg

Full view
boxwood4.jpg

KennedyMarx

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
I cut back hard, but left foliage on branches, and the boxwood shot out a lot of new growth. It was very surprising the way that they have a reputation for slow growth. These weren't Kingsville. I didn't repot or reduce the rootball in any way, but I think I should have removed the bottom half of the root ball and put it back in the cut down pot. The bottom stayed too wet while the top area dried out quickly. So yeah, I've killed a couple of them. I still have one that I'm going to make into a skinny little shohin, eventually.

larlamonde

Shohin
Reaction score
I just picked up this "Wintergreen" Buxus microphylla at a garden center. It immediately caught my eyes because of the twin trunk and nebari. The trunk is about 2.5 inches and it's currently a huge bush measuring at 30inches tall and 36 inches wide.

Since I'm new to boxwood, is it okay to repot now or wait until next spring (I'm seeing that either times are fine?). If I do repot now, can I start pruning back the branches or wait until next spring?

Close up

View attachment 75730

Left trunk
View attachment 75731

Right Trunk
View attachment 75732

Full view
View attachment 75733