First Juniper advice

Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b
0ED16482-C6A1-4287-A3D8-F3F453F1F07E.jpeg I purchased a Juniper at my local nursery. I am a beginner and I have been doing a lot of reading and looking a photos of other juniper bonsai. The one that I purchased was very over grown and root bound. I like a challenge I guess. This is what I cam up with after pruning today. I would like advice on where to go from here. I have done a little wiring to get the trunks to stand up and lean to one direction. I would like it to all flow and turn out some what nice. Suggestions other that toss it and start over are welcome :)

Reaction score
USDA Zone
Where to go from here...thats tough. Go buy another one. This one needs a long time to recover from your drastic pruning. I'd suggest a dwarf garden juniper to butcher next..

Reaction score
USDA Zone
Cut the left branch off at the end of next growing season. Cut the lower right branch in half about a month after it starts to extend in the spring.

Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b
Is turning this into a multi trunk bonsai complete out of the question? That is sort of what I was going for. When I pruned away all of the over growth and dead stuff that is kind of what I was going for. I know it has a very long road ahead of it but I would hate to give up on it already.

Timbo

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
4b
IMO, you should have cleaned all the dead foliage and left most of the young lower growth on it.
You pruned all that off and messed with the roots also? Did you cut any roots?
My juniper i have about that size took over a year to recover from a nursery pot re-potting. All i did was clip a few long branches off, clean the dead stuff off to give it more light and a chance to backbud.
That wire looks too small to stay in place, I bet it just goes back in place.
Twisted is right, you should leave it alone and see how it turns out.
What zone are you?