First Juniper Styling

one_bonsai

Shohin
Reaction score
This is my first attempt at styling a bonsai. I went for a formal upright. I would appreciate any feedback.

Ist Juniper.jpg

one_bonsai

Shohin
Reaction score
Sorry I forgot to post the original photo.

20181128_122858.jpg

Wires_Guy_wires

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
Did you repot it as well?

The image looks pretty two dimensional. If you view it from the top down, do you see the branches going 360°? If so, then this could be a good start. If not, that's a thing to worry about coming spring. For now, it will need some time to recover. Nana branches can only bend a few times before the tissue breaks (and it takes 12 months to restore, darn it).

one_bonsai

Shohin
Reaction score
Top down. Yes I repotted it as well. Bare-rooted half of it and left the other half until next spring.

SANY0418.jpg

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
It's nice to see green junipers this time of year!

The trunk exit angles on the left are better.

Certainly transformed!

Try to make your pads less uniform!
Now!

Let's give ripping that tissue a go!

Sorce

one_bonsai

Shohin
Reaction score
The trunk exit angles on the left are better.

Try to make your pads less uniform!

Sorce

Yes I see what you mean about the exit angles.

With the pads you mean they are all similar?

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
With the pads you mean they are all similar?

Good question lol!

Cuz from above it looks well placed.

I think it is just the 2dedness. 2D Ed Ness.

It looks like Mario would have no question as to which branch to jump to next.
Make Marios life a little more difficult.
Actually, remove Mario all together.

Seems it just needs to grow out really!

Sorce

Joe Dupre'

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9a