First Pot for Japanese Black Pine

coachspinks

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
Kenji now lives 10 minutes from me. I was lucky enough to go to an open house he held last summer at his new home. His trees are amazing and Kenji is super nice.

Reaction score
Excuse my ignorance, (I'm still a noob at Bonsai, especially pines), but I presume you have "plucked" off some (most) of the pine's inner needles? If so, why? Was it for ease of wiring or to simply make the branch structure more visible?

Sorry for the hijack. It is a nice little tree. Cheers. :)

bonsaibp

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
10a
Kenji now lives 10 minutes from me. I was lucky enough to go to an open house he held last summer at his new home. His trees are amazing and Kenji is super nice.
He's a great guy. You should see if you can get in his workshops- though I think they may be full. I'll be down there the weekend of the 25th maybe we can say hi. I was also ther during the open house so maybe we've already met.

bonsaibp

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
10a
Excuse my ignorance, (I'm still a noob at Bonsai, especially pines), but I presume you have "plucked" off some (most) of the pine's inner needles? If so, why? Was it for ease of wiring or to simply make the branch structure more visible?

Sorry for the hijack. It is a nice little tree. Cheers. :)
Yes needles were removed. We do it for a number of reasons. To control strength, to let more light and air into the interior, for ease of wiring etc.. Its one of the techniques used to develop black pines for bonsai. Brian Van Fleet has put out a great little Ebook on training Japanese Black Pines- I recommend it.

Last edited:
Reaction score