First styling attempt! Boxwood

twarawa

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
2A
Here is my first attempt at styling some nursery stock into a starter bonsai. The tag said it is a Buxus Saskatoon.

I pruned and wired it the other day. This is my first attempt at wiring (and bonsai for that matter) so it is a bit messy but was a good learning experience. I found that it is much more difficult and time consuming than it looks.

Any ideas or comments are welcome. Thanks.

Before 2 by twarawa, on Flickr

Front View 2 by twarawa, on Flickr

Left Side 2 by twarawa, on Flickr

Right Side 2 by twarawa, on Flickr

Top View 2 by twarawa, on Flickr

PaulH

Omono
Reaction score
I think you're off to a nice start. You've started to achieve the oak - like structure that works best with boxwoods

Beng

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
10b
Nice start for sure, great job for a first styling.

ZenZilla

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Great job I just did a nursery stock actually a $7 clearance from Walmart lol

linlaoboo

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
the structure old southern oak trees have. its what many people try to make boxwoods look like. very natural and pleasing. its a compliment.

I googled and see what you mean now, branches grow from the same point, just like the box wood except 50 times the size, they're truly majestic.

jk_lewis

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7-8
Very nice start. There's still a small tangle of branches (it appears in the photo) in the center of the tree, but don't thin them TOO much.

Here is a pic of a live oak. Many folks pattern their boxwoods after this. My attempt:

Attachments

• ligve oak - google images.JPG
    ligve oak - google images.JPG
    84.6 KB · Views: 48
  • Boxwood live oak.JPG
    Boxwood live oak.JPG
    57.7 KB · Views: 55

Poink88

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
Very good start. Well done!