First time wiring ever.

YaBoyMyth

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
10a
This is my first time ever wiring anything so welcome so criticism and feedback! I’m going for a cascade as it’s my wife’s favorite style of bonsai. Starting to bring that right side down and pruned a big branch on the left. Trimmed down the middle area to get it shorter as it was very leggy so maybe it can fill in there and give a fuller appearance.

Attachments

• 59485B85-B578-415F-9315-F5CCA6C3E2A9.jpeg
    59485B85-B578-415F-9315-F5CCA6C3E2A9.jpeg
    253.4 KB · Views: 79

Shibui

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9?
Wiring looks neat and probably effective.
The smooth arching cascade will probably look OK for an azalea but not my idea of good cascade bonsai styling. I found that cascade look relatively easy but found getting a good looking trunk was much. much harder in practice.
Note that azalea are generally quite brittle so I'm glad you did not try for dramatic bends on this one.

Potawatomi13

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Normally not best to wire while flowering or having tender new growth. Agreed wiring not looking too bad;).

Reaction score
USDA Zone
7-8
Google Colin Lewis wiring video.
He wrote some books in the 90’s, and has a good basic wiring video.
He uses color coded wire so it is easy to see. I found it helpful.

Paradox

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Not bad for a first ever attempt. Wiring takes practice, lots of practice to perfect.
Study how others wire trees, practice and youll get the hang of it

Njyamadori

Chumono
Reaction score