First time with Alberta spruce

Phillthy

Mame
Reaction score
I was bored during the weekend and I bought an Alberta spruce at Home Depot. Brought it home and styled it. This is my first time styling an Alberta spruce. I know they don't backup well and stay in place after wiring. Is there any specific steps on after care? The tree is outside. Do I need to water is as often since it's winter? I would like to see this thing stay alive during the winter. Any advice would be great.

Attachments

• IMG_0008.JPG
    IMG_0008.JPG
    259.9 KB · Views: 129
  • IMG_0011.JPG
    IMG_0011.JPG
    419.2 KB · Views: 139

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Is the base on the second one really that big? Damn!

That's a bit much to take off at once.

Sorce

Phillthy

Mame
Reaction score
Yeah I got too clipper happy :/
As for the base I was shocked when I saw that while I was digging around.

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Yeah I got too clipper happy :/
As for the base I was shocked when I saw that while I was digging around.

Kill!

Oddities like that are worth going slow with....

Never again!

Sorce

Phillthy

Mame
Reaction score
I'm so mad at myself for taking too much off. Hopefully they survive. As for the aftercare, I don't have space to dig it into the ground. Right now it's placed in a wooden box (to stop the wind) thats the same height as the tree and the bottom is filled with leaves. Will that help it survive? Does the tree need to be in full sun and only the pot/roots covered in leaves? Help. I will get aphoto later once I leave work.

BobbyLane

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score