Fish Hydrolysate Smell VS Fish Emulsion Smell

Bezalel Nebari

Sapling
Reaction score
I just started using a fish hydrolysate product made from fish, crab and shrimp. It's my first time using a fish product and.........this shit stankkkkk!!!!!!

Can anyone who has used fish hydrolysate try to explain what it smelled like? I'm paranoid because I'm not sure if I'm being overly sensitive to the smell, or if I got a bad batch. It definitely smells fishy, but it has a deeper odor that I can't quite explain. The odor definitely grabs your attention, and it actually ended up taking my appetite away for a few hours. The smell only lasted for a few hours overall, which is a good sign I think.

Can anyone explain the difference in smell between fish emulsion and fish hydrolysate?

TN_Jim

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
I actually just top my soil and foliar feed with a couple of whole raw fish from the monger.

Forsoothe!

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
They all stink, and the kelp/seaweed too!
My kelp does not stink in granular or liquid form. I wouldn't say it smells pleasant, but not noticeable in my greenhouse, or as on my houseplants. Fulmic and Humic acid also have no noticeable odor. I'm a fisherman and I bury fish in my garden, about a foot deep or the critters find it. That night.

Wilson

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
My kelp does not stink in granular or liquid form. I wouldn't say it smells pleasant, but not noticeable in my greenhouse, or as on my houseplants. Fulmic and Humic acid also have no noticeable odor. I'm a fisherman and I bury fish in my garden, about a foot deep or the critters find it. That night.

I like the smell of my studio when I water with kelp, but the rest of the family feel differently.😆

Bezalel Nebari

Sapling
Reaction score
My liquid kelp doesn't smell either. I use Kelp from Kelpak and it actually doesn't smell offensive at all. I actually kinda like the smell.