Friend in Japan sent me a DIY 'grow your own bonsai' kit as a Christmas gift. I am a square 1, absolute 0 experience grower. Advice?

rhizodyne

Seed
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9b
Hi, so complete newbie here who was essentially thrown into this hobby via a Christmas gift sent to me by a friend in Fukuoka.

What she sent me is a tiny 'DIY at home super easy yadda yadda' store-bought bonsai kit that comes in a small egg shaped container and includes a very small, no drainage pot, a few seeds in a small package, and a small pack of something called 膨らみ土 = 'expanding soil,' which I think is supposed to function as starter material, and apparently expands significantly when water is added. Evidently the species of seed I have is 黒松 Japanese black pine.

I became a little skeptical of how simple the instructions were. They basically just say to open the soil and put it in the included pot, add about 30 mL of lukewarm water (or enough until the soil expands by about 5x), and then just put the seeds into the soil, so that they are submerged. Oh, and to just make sure to water regularly and avoid direct sunlight until after I see germination, at which point I should make sure it gets at least half a day of sun and some decent wind. I should then choose an evidently successful sprout and then put it in a separate pot.

But then I read up online about how cultivating bonsai from seeds is actually very challenging, and how I need to take very specific care during the germination process, and basically every stage afterward if I can even get that far. Needless to say I am suspicious of how simple the attached instructions are.

So, what do you guys here make of the instructions on this kit? They do seem quite rudimentary, but at the same time I presume the company that makes these just wants to make this as beginner friendly as possible? I also read that the Japanese black pine is pretty good for beginners.