From Seed Division: Kanorin's Lodgepole and Aspen mountainside planting

Kanorin

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
Warning, experiment in progress! I've never done anything like this before. This past winter I built this funky box to look like a mountainside planting. And while my box-building skills aren't amazing, I think I was able to cover up the flaws pretty well using a homemade muck (roughly equal parts akadama/kiryu dust : sphagnum moss : water.
IMG-7068.jpg
IMG-7070.jpg
IMG-7072.jpg
The research participants: Lodgepole pines that I harvested as cones from last years' visit to Colorado (needed to bake them in the oven for ~30 minutes to get the cones to open and be fertile) and Quaking aspen seeds that I purchased.
IMG-7073.jpg

I noticed (and then later verified) that aspens start to be found about 6,500 feet of elevation and lodgepole pines in the Colorado rocky mountains are usually found between about 8000-10,000 feet. Also, these trees are often found in mono-species stands, where one species will dominate a few hundred square feet or so. So I tried to mimic this growth pattern in miniature, with some Aspen stands lower on the mountainside and a large stand of lodgepoles higher up. Obviously, there are plenty of other interesting species in Rocky mountain forests, but this planting will only feature these two. I'm hoping the aspen will throw a few more trunks through root suckers as they tend to do in the wild.
IMG-7074.jpg
IMG-7075.jpg

Leo in N E Illinois

The Professor
Reaction score
on the IL-WI border, a mile from ''da Lake''
USDA Zone
5b
I imagine the aspen could possibly shade out some of the lodgepole pine seedlings. You might not have as many pine seedlings as you planted.

While they cohabitate in nature, share mycorrhiza associations in nature, in a pot the mechanics might not work out as nicely.

But it is an interesting experiment, the growth rate difference is quite dramatic, I could not have predicted that.

Kanorin

Omono
Reaction score