Future plans for collected tree.

Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
So here is my first collected tree, dug up back in spring 2017. I though it was an American hornbeam when I collected it, but further study indicated it may be a hophornbeam. I've not touched it and just allowed it to recover, as I put it in way too small a pot on collection. Here it is last spring after first leaf. Looked like this most of last year.
bd_photo_1530014120186.jpeg

If I had it to do over I probably would not have collected this one as the trunk doesn't strike me as very interesting. However, it's my first try at digging one up so I'd like to continue developing it for the sake if that fact alone. Here it is as of this morning:
IMG_20190422_081343.jpg

Seems happy with a lot of good new growth. I plan on letting us grow untouched this year as well, except to remove growth to get light to those lower buds if needed. My original plan was to chop it again next spring below the split and grow a new leader. However, looks to me like that would just leave a squat and uninteresting trunk.
IMG_20190422_083258.jpg

The more I think about it, the more I think I may just leave the trunk as is and let it develop into a larger bonsai resembling the natural growth of all the rest of these trees on the farm I collected it from. What do you all think?

Bonsai Nut

Nuttier than your average Nut
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a
Always start with the nebari and the base of the trunk, and go from there. The nebari is the most important part of the tree, and the hardest to develop. If the nebari is good, I would next look to the trunk and decide my design line and taper, which in turn would dictate whether more dramatic trunk work would be needed. If the nebari is poor, you need to fix the nebari or air-layer the trunk and start over, BEFORE you start worrying about anything else.