Garage overwintering setup

Meh

Mame
Reaction score
I am a bit of a smart-device and automation obsessive. So while I am a newbie to bonsai, it pains me to see advanced practitioners on this forum lament avoidable winter damage on trees because, for example, a spouse left the garage door open.

So, I thought I would share my garage setup in the hopes of sparing even one or two people from needless branch dieback.

It starts with a smart garage door opener. I have a Chamberlain unit that can be controlled remotely using the MyQ app: https://www.chamberlain.com/durable-chain-drive-wi-fi-garage-door-opener-with-battery-backup/p/C870. You can set it up to alert you if the garage door is left open for longer than you want, and you can close it from your smartphone. For safety, it alerts anyone nearby before closing by flashing the garage lights and sounding an alarm—the neighbors will love it. This alone offers so much peace of mind, and in milder climates that might be all you need.

Here in polar vortex territory, it got down to 40 below zero in January. So I also have two electric space heaters coupled to Bayite thermostats: https://www.amazon.com/bayite-Temperature-Controller-Thermostat-Pre-wired/dp/B01KMA6EAM/. The thermostat is digital and precise to 0.1 degrees, unlike the terrible rotary dials that come on many space heaters with built in thermostats. The temperature probe is on a long wire and can be placed anywhere, so I can get temperature readings from right by my bonsai, but still position the space heaters far away so as not to blast them with hot dry air. And if you are worried about heat gain, you can also attach a fan or an AC unit to the thermostat to keep the temperature within a set lower and upper bound.