Getting started? Newbie here.

Rook

Seedling
Reaction score
A couple years ago, I joined this forum with the intention of gathering information and beginning my bonsai journey. I was promptly chased off by someone for asking simple newbie questions.

Undeterred (but too shy to post!), I dug up two tiny juniper seedlings from my front yard and potted them. It's been two-ish years and they've grown to just about a foot tall each, and they used up all their nutrients (and their roots grew too big). I repotted them (admittedly in the same size pots as I didn't have bigger pots on hand, but in fresh soil). One is sprouting new foliage at the tips of its little limbs (yay!), but the other seems to be dying (very brittle and tending towards brown, not green). We had a good rain storm here the past couple of days, so I'm hoping that the fresh soil and rain will help perk it back up.

Anyway, when I was switching them to their new soil (which is, admittedly, not actually soil for bonsai, but it's what I had on hand - I'll be getting better soil after I get paid!) I realized just how much root these two have. There's so much root. I trimmed a bit off one tree but, since I don't really know what I'm doing, was hesitant to do more. How do you know how much root to trim? I assume it should be done in stages (some this spring, some in fall, some next spring? or some this spring, then some next spring?), but how much do I trim each time? And do I take the tiny roots, or snip the bigger ones? I've tried Googling, but there isn't much specific info (mostly just "Trim roots, but don't trim too much!"). I was thinking that, when I repot into the actual bonsai soil (if that's even needed yet? Internet isn't helping with this part of the learning), I could trim a bit more, but I don't want to stress them out too much.