Gifted JPB - questions

cishepard

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I was just gifted a magnificent old black pine. It came from a friend who has been engaged with bonsai for 40+ years and has a few hundred trees, but he’s getting older and is gradually dispersing his collection. He has given me over 20 trees to date and this one is the latest and greatest (well, the biggest, at any rate).
My friend never liked to wire his trees and relied on clip and grow for the most part. Many of his pines look similar to this one (to my eye), but he thought this one was particularly scraggy and unnattractive. But oh, the trunk!

I‘m excited about this tree’s potential, but I am pretty new to JBP, and don’t have them quite figured out yet. I also have a 3 ten year old prebonsai JBP’s from @River's Edge and a 25 year old, unstyled JBP raised by Anton Nijhous that I don’t know what to do with yet, so any info I can glean from this thread will help with those as well.

Here are my questions:

-The foliage on the tree appears either weak or overly/ improperly pruned to me, correct?
- It has long branches, each with a tuft of needles on the end, little ramification and doesn’t appear to have ever backbudded on any branch. Shall I assume it never will at this point?
- Will I have to wire the existing branches to appear as close to the trunk as possible and then try to ramify from the existing tips onward?
- The tree is very tall but there is a lot of old scarring and interest in the upper trunk (right after the big curve). I’m inclined to leave all of that and only do a bit of reduction on that younger barked upper area to form a nice apex … opinions?
- Down at the base - there is some moss, but mostly lichens - should I carefully remove all of that?