Ginkgo pruning

PinkTarantula

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7B
I have a ginkgo that I picked up last summer. It’s a little tall and spindly compared to what I’d rather it look like. I was aiming for more of a squat medium sized tree with a fan shape. It may be too late for that on this tree. I’m very new to bonsai and have done some research into pruning but everything seems pretty vague or is more for general upkeep style pruning. The entire pruning aspect of this, for some reason, is a bit overwhelming to me. Any input on this tree would be greatly appreciated. I’ve never cut anything on it. The cut branches are from the bonsai nursery that sold it to me.BDFDF1CA-F272-49FA-8D59-04F13D2807A4.jpegBEF3D4C0-09EE-46B5-8649-FA9DB0AE212B.jpeg22A9A2A3-D023-400C-84A1-98C0608FDCF2.jpeg4295C22A-5FDC-4D24-9220-4A773F501C68.jpegA1ACBFD4-0079-49E9-B426-9C7D3964725B.jpeg017234EC-DD7D-46AD-A390-B15AA5D83935.jpegA00165FB-EE54-42D3-820A-E7A066FCBCB1.jpegE08E015C-AAC9-4D8A-AEB1-5B651555A1D0.jpeg

Forsoothe!

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
There is no substitute for buying a short Ginkgo, even if you have to buy one younger than you want. You need to stump this about 1/4 to 1/3 as tall as your goal and wire twigs sideways ASAP in the life of the twig.

plant_dr

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
This appears to be grafted. The leaves which will be on the branches coming from that spot below where the trunk shrinks down are from the rootstock. They will be different than the leaves on the grafted portion above. It may or may not be noticable but depending on how much of a purist you are, you might consider removing them at some point.

PinkTarantula

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7B
There is no substitute for buying a short Ginkgo, even if you have to buy one younger than you want. You need to stump this about 1/4 to 1/3 as tall as your goal and wire twigs sideways ASAP in the life of the twig.