Glaze suggestions

andrewiles

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I decided to try making some pots. Following ABCarve's approach in his wet slab thread. Complete noob about to start pot #4. I have access to a local studio that does midrange firings. The studio handles the firings -- I can glaze how I want after bisque but otherwise it's out of my control.

Love to get some glaze suggestions from this crowd. I'm know zilch about glazing so I'm going to do some test tiles first. I plan to focus on larger rectangular pots for forest plantings, starting with larches and dawn redwoods. These pots are a bit tall so I'll start shinking the height and elongating the width and length. Up to about 26" on the diagonal for their kiln they say.

Here are my 3 pots so far:
PXL_20220118_000902086.jpgPXL_20220125_122655631.jpgPXL_20220121_093710999 (1).jpg

Here are my two clay bodies:
Untitled.pngseamix_5-1_1200x.jpg

I think I want more subdued, earthy tones. Not glossy or flashy. Browns, grays and tans I think.

Anyone have any favorite glazes or application approaches you think I should try? Has to be fairly simple for my first go at it.

Looking around the interwebs, I'm liking the look of Amaco Matte Shino glazes, such as:
SH-22_Acai_Matte_2048px_JPG_WEB.jpgSH-32_Cacao_Matte_2048px_JPG_WEB.jpg

andrewiles

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I'm firing a few test tiles tonight. Picked up some Amaco and Mayco glazes at the local store. I'll probably try some stains and eventually some selfmade glazes but I figured I should start out with simple purchased glazes first.

andrewiles

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Is there any particular reason why the inside of bonsai pots are typically not glazed? From what I can tell it's historically just to avoid wasting glaze material. Since the pots are vitrified I don't think there is any water absorption rationale. And the "help roots grip the pot" explanation doesn't make much sense to me since we tie the trees down anyways.