Got a Juniper? Bonsai for Christmas. Don't want to kill it. Help.

Jalcon

Seedling
Reaction score
Hey all. So I got a bonsai tree for Christmas. I'm not a total newb to this, but just about one.
It doesn't have a label, but I think it's a juniper? Maybe someone can help me out there judging by the pics.

My mom, who bought it for me said the lady told her you could keep it inside. I know enough about plants to know that I highly doubt you could keep a juniper inside for any considerable length of time for it to be healthy. I'm not sure if I can just put it outside though, as it gets pretty cold here in Pennsylvania. I could put it in my garage...which remains about 50-60 degrees, however has NO sunlight. I could put it in my shed, which does have a few windows, but would obviously be very cold...but at least protected from the wind.

Also, whatever soil it is in, which is rocky on top, is like glued on or something? No idea why someone would do that - I guess so costumers don't make a mess when picking it up, but you can break it up some. I mean, how would you even water it? I guess from the bottom.

I guess my questions are, what should I do with it to keep it alive? It's the middle of winter. I feel like it needs transplanted into some real soil mix/media, but perhaps this isn't the time. It also doesn't have much shape to it at all, but is very healthy. I would at least get rid of one of the shoots near the base to give it some "bonsai appearance". Maybe this isn't the time for that either.

Should I just stick it outside, and water it? If you guys were given this plant, what would you do with it, lol?

Thanks all.

Pics -

tree1.jpg
tree4.jpg

Last edited:

larlamonde

Shohin
Reaction score