Green mound juniper

Matt Gleason

Seedling
Reaction score
Hey guys, first post here I'm new to the world of bonsai I created this one last night out of a green mound juniper suggestions are welcome. Also have a question about winter since I am from Wisconsin I know these are fine if they are buried in the ground but being potted in a pot the roots will be exposed to the frost. Any suggestions
IMG_1856.JPG

Cypress187

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
Welcome to the forum!

You also have before pictures? I think it's pretty good if this is your first try, still enough green on it and it's outside (most new guys try to keep juniper inside). You could update ur profile *(location) so the experts can check ur climate zone and give better advice.

Matt Gleason

Seedling
Reaction score
Here is the befor picture. And yes my very first try. Watched a few youtube videos and studied a few pictures befor attempting anything
IMG_1867.PNG

GrimLore

Bonsai Nut alumnus... we miss you
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
Hey guys, first post here I'm new to the world of bonsai I created this one last night out of a green mound juniper suggestions are welcome. Also have a question about winter since I am from Wisconsin I know these are fine if they are buried in the ground but being potted in a pot the roots will be exposed to the frost. Any suggestions

First off, being repotted and extensively trimmed in one shot you should not do anymore to it for another year. Concentrate on keeping it alive and growing again. That Juniper should do ok for you outside in full sun but never allow it to dry out completely during any season.