Greenhouse/frame Covering ??

sbarnhardt

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b
I've built myself a small frame/box to winter my trees in. It's approximately 5 ft long by 4ish wide. I don't remember the exact width and it's outside in the cold, dark morning and I'm inside where it's warm with a cup of coffee so I'm not measuring it right now. It's my first attempt at something like this so please take that into account. ?? I've used pex and pvc pipe with electrical conduit wall straps on the side of the wooden portion of the box to anchor the ends of the pipe to form my "hoop/roof."

I'm to the point of getting plastic to cover it. The first, and probably the cheapest, is to buy clear poly from Home Depot, or similar. I have read a blurb or two that discusses whether or not to go to the expense of buying film designed for a greenhouse as opposed to regular poly. I'm wondering if anyone has any recent experience with this and has any "wisdom" to impart on the subject.

** This time I think I have relearned thumbnails as opposed to large pics. Should be easier to look at now, maybe. I've added a reply with thumbnails in place of the pics that were here.**

Last edited:

JudyB

Queen of the Nuts
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
Clear poly isn't your friend on a winter storage house. This will just make it hot on sunny days, and you may have problems with keeping trees dormant. I would look for an opaque film, or if you have to use clear poly, I think there is some sort of greenhouse paint like product that you can coat the plastic with.

Brian Van Fleet

Pretty Fly for a Bonsai Guy
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8A