Greetings from Colorado,

Canonfodder

Sapling
Reaction score
My name is Craig Mahagan and I have loved the idea of bonsai since I learned of it in high school. Right out of school I went into the U.S. Army and served for 17 years until I had to get out for medical reasons. I am now a retired veteran now and am trying to find ways to improve my mental health and find meaning in something. In the past I have bought trees from nursery’s and tried to pick up the hobby, but each time I found failure. I am once again taking a chance with bonsai as a way to learn patients and structure. This time however, I didn’t just go out and buy a tree, I bought a kit on Amazon.com to grow your own trees from seeds. Though I did go buy a tree from a nursery, I didn’t get one already formed and that is only a year old. I planted my first seeds today consisting of a Colorado Blue Spruce, Rocky Mountain Juniper, Black Spruce, and a Siberian Elm. I also bought some more seeds of other tree species that I plan to try. In particular I got some Quacking Aspen seeds. As a native born Coloradian, I love to go into the mountains and see the beautiful trees and want to keep some of home if I ever decide to move away. One day I hope to go into the mountains and collect some seeds to further work on the artistry and majesty of this hobby. I am getting my head ready for the possibility of loss and failure, yet this time I hope not to quit and continue on.

BonsaiDTLA

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
You're starting in a good place here on bonsainut. I'm sure most people here want to help, but they'll also be extra encouraged to if you're also putting in the effort to learn yourself.

Search and read a lot! There's lots of free Youtube videos, good threads on here, and great books to learn from. Welcome!

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Your NAME is Canonfodder, does that make you a photo model or..... cannon fodder? 😜
Speaking of Photo models and Canon Fodder...