Ground Layer Arakawa?

ndl17

Seed
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6B
Hello! This is my first post on this website, as I am new to bonsai since Fall 2019! I've read a couple books and watched a ton of YouTube videos.

I could use some advice with a nursery Arakawa. I thought for sure I would have to air layer it [and never having air layered before, I was nervous that it would fail and I'd lose half a tree]. That is, until I saw this post wherein a gentleman said that Arakawas could be ground layered with wet sphagnum moss. Does anyone have experience with this?

Could I also ask for recommendations on where a good place might be? I know you should generally try to layer it below a junction, but the matter is complicated by [what I think will become] a hollow on the outside of the first bend (See pic #3). Therefore, I figured I would need to layer the tree above the first branch so the first branch would act as a sap puller and make for less dramatic taper.

Also, I realize having it inside is super unhealthy for the tree, but the weather in Pittsburgh this week has been below freezing and I didn't know what else to do! In previous weeks we had weather around 75°F.

Thanks for any advice you can offer!

Nick from Pittsburgh

Attachments

• 1.jpg
    1.jpg
    153.1 KB · Views: 52
  • 2.jpg
    2.jpg
    141.8 KB · Views: 61
  • 3.jpg
    3.jpg
    123 KB · Views: 62
  • 4.jpg
    4.jpg
    143.6 KB · Views: 57
  • 5.jpg
    5.jpg
    178.1 KB · Views: 51

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Welcome to Crazy!

Sorry for the delay. Putting links gets Newbs jammed up for approval.

Sorce

MrWunderful

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
10b
Ground layer is usually done as low as possible to generate new ideal roots on the entire plant.

Air layer- generating roots on a part of the plant (usually a branch) then separating to get an identical clone as a separate plant.